European Yearbook of Constitutional Law

Volume 5

The European Yearbook of Constitutional Law (EYCL) is an annual publication devoted to the study of constitutional law. The yearbook provides a forum for indepth analysis and discussion of new developments in constitutional law in Europe and beyond. Each issue is dedicated to a specific theme. Papers are subject to editorial and double-blind peer review. The yearbook is published by T.M.C. ASSER PRESS in cooperation with Springer Publishers.

Contact

To get in touch, please send an e-mail to eycl@tilburguniversity.edu

Charlotte van Oirsouw · Jurgen de Poorter · Ingrid Leijten · Gerhard van der Schyff · Maarten Stremler · Maartje De Visser Editors

European Yearbook of Constitutional Law 2023

Constitutional Law in the Digital Era





Editors
Charlotte van Oirsouw
Department of Constitutional
and Administrative Law
Utrecht University
Utrecht, The Netherlands

Ingrid Leijten Department of Public Law and Governance Tilburg Law School Tilburg, The Netherlands

Maarten Stremler Faculty of Law Department of Public Law Maastricht University Maastricht, The Netherlands Jurgen de Poorter Department of Public Law and Governance Tilburg Law School Tilburg, The Netherlands

Gerhard van der Schyff Department of Public Law and Governance Tilburg Law School Tilburg, The Netherlands

Maartje De Visser SMU School of Law Singapore, Singapore

The views expressed in this Yearbook are not necessarily those of the members of the Editorial Board, the Board of Recommendation and/or those institutions they represent, including the T.M.C. Asser Institute and T.M.C. ASSER PRESS.

Published by T.M.C. ASSER PRESS, The Hague, The Netherlands www.asserpress.nl Produced and distributed for T.M.C. ASSER PRESS by Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg

© T.M.C. ASSER PRESS and the authors 2024

Chapter 10 is licensed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). For further details see license information in the chapter.

No part of this work may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, microfilming, recording or otherwise, without written permission from the Publisher, with the exception of any material supplied specifically for the purpose of being entered and executed on a computer system, for exclusive use by the purchaser of the work. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this publication does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use.

This T.M.C. ASSER PRESS imprint is published by the registered company Springer-Verlag GmbH, DE, part of Springer Nature.

The registered company address is: Heidelberger Platz 3, 14197 Berlin, Germany

If disposing of this product, please recycle the paper.

Editorial Board

Series Editors

Prof. Jurgen de Poorter (Editor), Tilburg University

Dr. Gerhard van der Schyff (Editor), Tilburg University

Dr. Maarten Stremler (Editor), Maastricht University

Dr. Maartje De Visser (Editor), Singapore Management University

Board of Recommendation

Prof. Dr. Armin von Bogdandy, Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law

and International Law

Prof. em. Dr. Marc Bossuyt, University of Antwerp

Prof. Dr. Alfonso Celotto, Roma Tre University

Prof. Dr. Janneke Gerards, Utrecht University

Prof. Dr. Daniel Halberstam, University of Michigan

Preface

The *European Yearbook of Constitutional Law* is very pleased to welcome Sophie Vonk as one of its Managing Editors. Sophie is currently working towards her Ph.D. in Constitutional Law at Tilburg Law School.

Utrecht, The Netherlands Tilburg, The Netherlands Tilburg, The Netherlands Tilburg, The Netherlands Maastricht, The Netherlands Singapore, Singapore Charlotte van Oirsouw Jurgen de Poorter Ingrid Leijten Gerhard van der Schyff Maarten Stremler Maartje De Visser

Contents

1	Constitutional Law in the Digital Era Charlotte van Oirsouw, Jurgen de Poorter, Ingrid Leijten, Gerhard van der Schyff, Maarten Stremler and Maartje De Visser	1
2	The Invisible Citizen in the Digital State: Administrative Law Meets Digital Constitutionalism Sofia Ranchordás	15
3	Public Data, AI Applications and the Transformation of the State: Contemporary Challenges to Democracy Antonios Kouroutakis	41
4	Jawboning Content Moderation from a European Perspective Jacob J. W. van de Kerkhof	61
5	Constitutional Adaption to Conflict and Competition in Algorithmic Society: In Search of Proportional Solutions to Political Harms on Social Media Platforms	87
6	Discrimination in the Age of Algorithms—Is EU Law Ready? Alexandru Cîrciumaru	111
7	The Debiasing Paradox: Facial Recognition Technology and Biometric Identification Systems in the Artificial Intelligence Act Alba Ribera Martínez	137
8	The Role of the EU Right to Good Administration in Shaping Algorithmic Decision Systems Benjamin Jan	165

X	Contents

9	Artificial Free Thought: Automated Courts	
	and the Independent Algorithm	195
	Émile Chamberland	
10	The Constitutional Right to an Effective Remedy in the Digital	
	Age: A Perspective from Europe	223
	Giovanni De Gregorio and Simona Demková	

Editors and Contributors

About the Editors

Charlotte van Oirsouw is a doctoral researcher at the Institute of Jurisprudence, Constitutional and Administrative Law at Utrecht University, The Netherlands. Her research focuses on the regulation of the transparency of and accountability for (networked) automated administrative decision-making.

Jurgen de Poorter is a Professor of Administrative Law in the Department of Public Law and Governance at Tilburg University, The Netherlands. His research focuses in particular on constitutional dialogues, public interest litigation and methods of judicial lawmaking.

Ingrid Leijten is a Professor of Dutch and European Constitutional Law in the Department of Public Law and Governance at Tilburg University, The Netherlands. Her research primarily deals with the changing role and meaning of fundamental rights against the background of broader (comparative) constitutional law developments.

Gerhard van der Schyff is an Associate Professor in the Department of Public Law and Governance at Tilburg University, The Netherlands. His research interests include constitutional law and fundamental rights, especially from a comparative and European perspective.

Maarten Stremler is an Assistant Professor of Constitutional Law at the Faculty of Law at Maastricht University, The Netherlands. His research interests are Dutch and European constitutional law, comparative constitutional law and constitutional theory.

Maartje De Visser is a Professor at the Yong Pung How School of Law, Singapore. Her current research focuses on constitutional engagement by courts and non-judicial

xii Editors and Contributors

actors, transnational judicial dialogues in Europe and Asia and means to improve constitutional literacy.

Contributors

Émile Chamberland LL.M. graduate of McGill University, Montreal, Canada

Alexandru Cîrciumaru Brussels, Belgium, England

Giovanni De Gregorio Católica Global School of Law, Universidade Católica Portuguesa, Lisbon, Portugal

Simona Demková Leiden Law School, Europa Institute, Leiden University, Leiden, The Netherlands

Benjamin Jan EU Legal Studies, University of Liège, Liège; Centre Jean Monnet of Excellence JUST-AI, Brussels, Belgium

Antonios Kouroutakis IE University, Madrid, Spain

Dmitry Kurnosov Faculty of Law, University of Helsinki, Helsinki, Finland

Sofia Ranchordás Tilburg Law School, Tilburg University, Tilburg, The Netherlands

Alba Ribera Martínez Law Department, University Villanueva, Madrid, Spain

Jacob J. W. van de Kerkhof Montaigne Centre, Utrecht University, Utrecht, The Netherlands